IAA website social square - generic

Incinerator Art Award 2020

28 August 2020 - 1 November 2020


Artist(s): @Covid-19Quilt Project, led by Kate Just and Tal FitzpatrickAmala Groom - Azza Zein - Carly Fischer - Chelle Destefano - Cyrus Tang - Desmond Mah - Devi Seetharam - Elham Eshraghian - Georgia Banks - Hineani Tunoa Roberts - Jayanto Tan - Karla Pringle - MJ Flamiano - Nicholas Burridge - Nina Sanadze - Roberta Rich - Sally Foster - Sha Sarwari - Shivanjani Lal - The Bureau for the Organisation of Origins - Varuni Kanagasundaram


Explore works inspired by the theme of art for social change.

View the online exhibition

Congratulations to the two winners of Incinerator Art Award for 2020: Cyrus Tang and Sha Sarwari. They both receive solo exhibitions at the Incinerator gallery in 2021 with a $4,000 artist’s fee.

Kate Just and Tal Fitzpatrick are the winners of this year’s People’s Choice Award, receiving a $1,000 cash prize towards their project.

The Awards were held via live stream Friday 28 August and were presented by judges Andy Butler (Program Curator Westspace. Artist, writer and curator)., Esther Anatolitis (Deputy Chair, Contemporary Arts Precincts; Honorary Associate Professor, RMIT School of Art) and Hannah Presley (Curator of Indigenous Art, National Gallery of Victoria).

Incinerator Art Award Shortlist

The Incinerator Art Award is Moonee Valley’s premier visual arts prize attracting artists from across Australia to respond to the Award’s call to action – art for social change. Throughout the month-long call for entries the gallery received a record number of 377 submissions and the selection committee with Dr Kent Wilson (Senior Curator, La Trobe Art Institute), shortlisted 22 works to be finalists.

The Incinerator Art Award 2020 shortlisted finalists are:

@covid19quilt Project, led by Kate Just and Tal Fitzpatrick, Amala Groom, Azza Zein, The Bureau for the Organisation of Origins (BOO), Carly Fischer, Chelle Destefano, Cyrus Tang, Desmond Mah, Devi Seetharam, Elham Eshraghian, Georgia Banks, Hineani Tunoa Roberts, Jayanto Tan, Karla Pringle, MJ Flamiano, Nicholas Burridge, Nina Sanadze, Roberta Rich, Sally Foster, Sha Sarwari, Shivanjani Lal, Varuni Kanagasundaram.

Congratulations to all our finalists and a huge thank you to everyone who submitted their work.